Helpful Hints…

My posts are like buses, nothing for days then three come along all at once 🙂

There are some things we can do to help ourselves, at least in the early stages of this condition and I have come up with a few that I use, or promise myself I will at least work on. If anyone has more suggestions please leave a comment so we can share our ‘Coping Strategies’ – That’s how the text books love to label it.

  1. Post-It notes. Make a habit of writing yourself notes and posting them where you will notice them.
  2. ‘A place for everything, and everything it its place.’ That is what my Dad used to say and now I try very hard to make it a part of my life. If I know where things are because I ALWAYS put them there then I can find them just by habit. I am not relying on my memory so much. There are times when I don’t do this and that is when the melt-downs can happen.
  3. Learn to ask for help when you need it. Ok, so I suck at this one. I have always been independent despite the fact that I also have a life-long sight impairment. In fact it was my eyesight problem that made me fiercely independent in the first place. I am trying to get over that and I do ask for help sometimes so that is a bit of an improvement but I still have to work on it…
  4. Try not to fret about the things you have no control over. Bills will sometimes not get paid, the rubbish might not go out on the right day for collection, well so what? The bill WILL get paid eventually and the bin will go out when it gets stinky enough. Some things aren’t worth worrying too much about. Concentrate on dealing with the stuff you still have some control over. I have a special spot for bills (no it isn’t the waste paper bin) and sooner or later I notice that something has been sitting there for a while and I check to see if I should have paid it. If that is the case, then I pay it online (just about everything can be paid that way now) and it is over with.
  5. Don’t put off the ‘bucket list’. I had a friend die from cancer a couple of years back and right from the moment of her diagnosis, she made an effort to do everything she wanted to do before it was too late. If there is something you really want to do and the only thing that is stopping you is fear of the unknown, get out there and do it!

Well those are my initial suggestions, I am guessing there are all sorts of others that can help so if you have some ideas please comment.

2 thoughts on “Helpful Hints…”

  1. I do post it notes. There is one on the front door which is my check list of things to do before leaving the house. Lock the back door, close windows, pick up keys etc.

    I tell people to live in the here and now. You can go back to the past occasionally but don’t fixate on it and wish you were still the person you were, cause you are not. Don’t think about the future and what might happen cause it hasn’t happened yet.

    Always keep a sense of humour which is so important as I am always laughing at myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

